Dual Boot is a drag!

Well after dealing with issues here at work, it has been a drag having to shut down my ubuntu and boot into Windows throughout the day. Unfortunately I haven’t had time to figure out if the Windows management tools work in Ubuntu using a program like Wine, so I am currently in the process of installing vmware server on my feisty install and planning to use the vmware convertor to capture my Windows XP install into a virtual drive.

So here is my game plan:

1. Install VMware server on Feisty.

2. Install Vmware Convertor on my Windows XP and capture my XP install into a vmware virtual drive.

3. Repartition my dual boot setup so my ubuntu partition can accomodate my new virtual drive.

4. Import the capture vmware drive and hope for the best it worked!

This way I can simultaneously run ubuntu and windows xp without rebooting. I also need to add more physical RAM for the virtual machine…

Update: I had to borrow memory from my personal lab pc – basically swapped between the two boxes. I’m sitting happy with a 1.5GB upgrade.

I’ll let you know as things progress.

Oh – I almost forgot to show where you can get vmware – http://www.vmware.com/products/free_virtualization.html

-dhashi

Leave a Reply

