Windows inside Ubuntu ala Vmware

Well, I was able to tackle getting my original XP workstation converted into a Vmware virtual drive and got it running inside my Ubuntu. I realized that I didn’t have sufficient memory – I ended up swapping out my 512MB to 2GB for my Dell Optiplex. Man, that made a world of difference on both sides of the house.I have to admit asides this weird drive controller detection error in my virtual Windows – it seems to be working adequately. Thumbs up for the vmware convertor – I gonna have to try using that to consolidate our servers here at work. If you are considering following a similar route – my VM’d XP is still lacking sound and true video acceleration. For straight office and network management use – its proving to be very good.

Windows inside Ubuntu ala Vmware

-dhashi

Leave a Reply

