Ubuntu vs. Dell 1710

Well, My Ubuntu install is doing great! However, I did forget to mention how I got my printer up and running. The campus here uses a Dell 1710 Laser printer and though it’s got support for Redhat Linux using RPM packages, Dell has yet to provide drivers for other flavors of Linux, including Ubuntu.

So what do you do when your stuck?

If you’ve jumped on the Ubuntu bandwagon – make sure you have the Ubuntu forums on your web browser’s bookmarks. I’ve found it to be the best place to search for answers to my question / problems. Just search for the problem using their search tool and if you can’t find an answer – just post. The folks on the forums are real nice – just make sure you let them know if your starting out in advance and be polite!

So for the Dell I came across this post on the forum:

http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=107028&highlight=dell+1710

The solution, I decided to go with was using the “generic PCl 6/XL” driver as posted by Alexander Kirillov.

Though this solution doesn’t allow you to use the full printing features of the 1710, I prefer it to paying out of pocket for a commercial product which was also listed as a solution. Until Dell provides more support for Linux, I prefer to wait. As with Dell taking a vested interest in Ubuntu, I would say it won’t be too long till we see some progress in the short run.

-dhashi

2 Responses to “Ubuntu vs. Dell 1710”

  1. David Says:

    If you have RPMs available, you could try to convert them to debs using ‘alien’. It translates RPM->DEB to allow you to install RPMs. I’ve used it with a decent amount of success.

  2. dhashi Says:

    Hi David,
    Thank you for your rely – You’re the first person on this site to do so!
    I’ll definitely try alien to convert that driver. I’ll let you know how that goes in a follow up post.
    Thanks again!
    -dhashi

Leave a Reply

