Vmware broke after Ubuntu Kernel Updates

Well as I predicted my Vmware install failed to start after the kernel updates that I downloaded and installed. Since there is a new version of VMware available now – 1.03. I decided it was time to upgrade my installation anyways – this would mean a full install.

So on my Ubuntu Feisty – there is a great tutorial that I followed from howtoforge.net that outline how to go about getting vmware to run on Ubuntu Feisty. Note the part about the patch that is required since even the latest version of Vmware Server doesn’t compile properly using the new kernel headers.

This how-to guide was a little dated so after a little looking around on the vmware forums – I came across a post with the newest source for the patch.

Just follow the tutorial on HowToForge.net and substitute the newer patch.

howtoforge.net is an excellent source for the newbie admin who wants to learn more about building out more different flavours of Linux and open source solutions.

-dhashi

Leave a Reply

