Ubuntu Studio

Ubuntu Studio

I´ve been wanting to try out Ubuntu Studio for a while to see what all the hype was around it´s release. The fact that audio and video software in itself can be very specialized and not to mention expensive, I feel this jewel of a distro will be potential tool to be used here at work. We´ve been discussing what equipment and software might be needed for distance learning and taking account the costs for everything, Ubuntu Studio might be the ticket to lowering our overall budget costs. Now learning all the tools that are packaged into this distro is whole other task.

Just from my initial tinkering with little knowledge I have for audio related software, I was stumped at how some applications were unable to launch or work without a ¨JACK¨ server. Well, if you follow the great little tutorial on the official Ubuntu Studio blog site – they´ve covered that little config that required. I´m still stumped at how to get the software to interconnect properly as I´m learning still, but at least the cool drum machine app called Hydrogen will keep me satisfied for the meantime.

I´ll post back later on how things go on selling Ubuntu Studio to my colleagues.

-dhashi

Leave a Reply

